Archive 2005

1st International Organ Competition
Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck

Oude Kerk, Amsterdam - October 26-30, 2005

Much fine music, but no first prize

The 1st International Sweelinck Festival was a very successful event.
Hundreds of listeners attended the concerts, the masterclasses and the three evenings of the Organ Competition "Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck".


Gustav Leonhardt (president), Pieter van Dijk, Piet Kee, Jaap Schröder and Bernard Winsemius


Christophe Bursens (Belgium)

Rien Donkersloot (The Netherlands)

TomᚠFlégr (Czech Republic)

Gerben Gritter (The Netherlands)

Matthias Havinga (The Netherlands)

Magdalena Malec (Poland)

Alessandro Sbrizzi (Italy)

Stephan van de Wijgert (The Netherlands)

Woon-Jung Yoon (Korea)
Statue of Sweelinck (made by Elisabeth Varga)

On Sunday October 30th the result of the competition was made known. Gustav Leonhardt, chairman of the jury, told the audience that the jury was very pleased with the level of the nine finalists, both technically and musically, but in the end decided not to award the prize (the only prize that could be awarded). He explained that in counting the scores it turned out that four candidates had been given almost the same number of points. To simply award the prize to one of them would have been unfair to the other three, and would do no justice to the count. Also the jury, while appreciating the generally high level, felt that it was not always maintained in the various pieces of each recital. Thus it was found inappropriate to grant such a prestigious prize. The final concert now had an unexpected programme.
Jan Wolff, director of the new Muziekgebouw aan het IJ, gave every finalist a certificate and the stipendium of 1000 euro. After that Matthias Havinga (the Netherlands), Christophe Bursens (Belgium), Alessandro Sbrizzi (Italy) and Stephan van de Wijgert (the Netherlands), the candidates who had earned the highest number of points, played pieces from Sweelinck, Frescobaldi and Scheidemann. Between the organ works, Camerata Oude Kerk (conducted by Henk Verhoef) sang Sweelinck's Magnificat and two psalms.