In the preliminary round 39 candidates from 15 different countries have submitted a recording, that was listened anonymously by a jury, consisting of Martin Haselb÷ck (Austria), Andrea Marcon (Italy) and Jonathan William Moyer (USA)

They selected the following candidates:

Emmanuel ArakÚlian - France

Ilaria Centorrino - Italy

Ji Hee Jeon - South Korea

Alberto Gaspardo - Italy

Abraham Ross - USA

Alessandro Sala - Italy

Peter van der Zwaag - Netherlands